Last week I heard a funny story on This American Life about the worst wedding toast ever heard by a friend of Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love. (You can play the episode here.  Forward to 49:45.) I’ve never heard a really bad toast before, maybe some that give out a bit too much information, but it got me thinking of what makes for a great wedding speech. Susan Breslow Sardone wrote a very helpful guide of the do’s and don’ts of writing a great wedding speech that can be found here. I definitely agree it should be kept short and only funny if you are naturally funny. One thing I would add is to speak from your heart. The best toasts I’ve heard are the ones that are genuine and straight from the heart. The speech in the video below is very sweet personal and unique. I hate musicals and still cried a little! Start the video around 1:48 for the good stuff.